There’s No Turning Back Now!

Not that I would have anyway, but my flight is booked, my reservation is made at Haiti Communitere, and I’m getting ready for my immunizations! It’s been over a year since I have been trying to get to Haiti and I’m now a little more than a month away from stepping foot on  Haitian soil!

I spun my wheels for the better part of last year trying to find the right organization to travel with. While there are MANY organizations out there, I wanted to find the right one for me. So many have a religious affiliation, which is fine, but it’s not what I was looking for. Others are very expensive; they seem more like vacationing than volunteering  I finally found one that I thought would be a good fit, they don’t have a religious affiliation, they are very reasonably priced, and they work with children in safe houses, but trying to get them to respond to my inquiries was like pulling teeth. Unfortunately, I spent a lot of time “chasing” them when I should have made the decision to go alone a lot earlier. As soon as I made that decision, everything fell into place.

We’re working on our final push for donations prior to leaving on May 14. We have the Cyclovia Fountain Hills event on 4/13, our Children’s Carnival FUNdraiser on 4/20, our BackPack Drive is still going on at Desert Mountain High School, and clothing, shoe and backpack donations are still rolling in.

If you would like to help, please contact us at info@bethehopehaiti.org.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

