Our First Backpack Shipment For Haiti

We received our first shipment of 50 backpacks yesterday! I will be bringing them with me next month for the children that we’re helping in Cite Soleil. The Backpack Drive is still underway at Desert Mountain High School and we’re hoping to receive backpack donations this Saturday at the FUNdraising Carnival. While I don’t think we’ll make our original goal of 150, I am very happy with what we’ve accomplished thus far. The collecting will continue upon my return as we already have 2 schools lined up that would like our help.

ImageWe’ve had a little change of plans regarding the school supplies. I’m planning on purchasing the school supplies for the backpacks in Haiti. The original plan was to bring the filled backpacks with me. However, we have received SO MANY generous donations of clothing and shoes for the kiddos that I want to make sure to bring as many with me on this trip as possible. Unfilled backpacks are much lighter than filled ones and I am trying to keep my checked bags to a maximum of 3, so unfilled backpacks it is! Also, if I am able to purchase the supplies in country and not pay a premium, I like that we’ll be helping the local economy. Nothing about this venture is written in stone, so if it doesn’t work well this time we’ll go back to the drawing board for the next trip.

Leave a Reply

